Login
Username:

Password:

Remember Me

Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
137 user(s) are online (109 user(s) are browsing Forums)

more...
Guru Dictionary
Print in friendly format Send this term to a friend  Collector Edition
RPO Z15.

1996 only.

Silver with black, red or grey interior.

LT1/A4 or LT4/ZF6....
Supporting Vendors
Platinum
Mid America Motorworks
Mid America Motorworks FREE CATALOG

Gold
FIC 770-888-1662

Registered Vendors
Guru Friends
Supporting Banners

TIRERACK.com - Revolutionizing Tire Buying

Shop for Winter Tires Now!

Support This Site
 Register To Post

1986pacecar Brakes 101
Guru Newb
10 Posts

My first post and it's good to see some familiar names from the Forum I usually frequent! This spring I plan on installing new brake pads and I also want to bleed the brakes as it hasn't been done since I owned the car. I've never done this before and consider myself a novice when it comes to servicing my cars. I think I know which brakes I'm going to choose and I also plan on getting some speed bleeders but I'm a little nervous about the whole thing. I've got some good books on how to do it but I'm looking for any hints or advice including any special tools I'll need. For instance should I go out and hit the bleeders with some PB Blaster a couple of days before to make sure I don't break them off and end up needing new calipers? Is there a better way to bleed the brakes? Do I buy el cheapo pads or spend a little more on Hawks? Do you sand the rotors as some recommend? Synthetic fluid or not? Those are the kinds of questions I looking for answers to. I appreciate any and all replys. Thanks.
Posted on: 2006/1/15 18:06
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

brut RE:Brakes 101
Guru Emeritus
New Albany, IN
1308 Posts

First, welcome to the guru! Hope you enjoy the stay!

OK, Brakes.....hopefully we will get an official tech tip up soon on it.