Login
Username:

Password:

Remember Me

Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
225 user(s) are online (195 user(s) are browsing Forums)

more...
Guru Dictionary
Print in friendly format Send this term to a friend  700R4
4-speed overdrive automatic transmission from 1982 to 1991....
Supporting Vendors
Platinum
Mid America Motorworks
Mid America Motorworks FREE CATALOG

Gold
FIC 770-888-1662

Registered Vendors
Guru Friends
Supporting Banners

TIRERACK.com - Revolutionizing Tire Buying

Shop for Winter Tires Now!

Support This Site
 Register To Post

KyVaderVette BOSE system
Guru Newb
Louisville, KY
28 Posts

It's awsome that there is a board dedicated to just Audio...I'm still learning about the BOSE system installed in my soon-to-be picked-up '95 Vert...I hope that it sounds good enough (at least at first) to just enjoy it, but what I've seen so far tells me that the factory wiring isn't that good, and I was surprised to find out that such a good system doesn't even have a sub...Anyone like to provide their opinion on the factory-installed system? Does it at least have some sort of amp? Suggestions for simple/non-expensive improvements? Just looking for general info right now, and thanks for any imput.
Posted on: 2011/4/26 0:39
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Matatk Re: BOSE system
Webmaster
SW Chicago Burbs
22803 Posts

For the *average* person the Bose system is fine. The problem with the Bose system is the speakers have individual amplifiers built in and the reference signal from the head unit does not match a standard aftermarket unit. When the amps start to go bad it can get very expensive to rebuild them. You can get an adapter to put an aftermarket HU in and use the Bose speakers, but as I stated once they go bad, it's pricey. Once it stops working or if guys want to improve the quality it usually involves a new head unit and four new speakers. Good idea to run new speaker wire, as well.

Matthew
Posted on: 2011/4/26 1:38