Login
Username:

Password:

Remember Me

Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
206 user(s) are online (177 user(s) are browsing Forums)

more...
Guru Dictionary
Print in friendly format Send this term to a friend  SBC
This stands for Small Block Chevrolet. The engine debuted in 1955 and remained largely unchanged until 1986. The initials are still used today to d...
Supporting Vendors
Platinum
Mid America Motorworks
Mid America Motorworks FREE CATALOG

Gold
FIC 770-888-1662

Registered Vendors
Guru Friends
Supporting Banners

TIRERACK.com - Revolutionizing Tire Buying

Shop for Winter Tires Now!

Support This Site
 Register To Post

Rex_Ruby AVIC D3 install in my Ruby
Senior Guru
Philly Suburbs
180 Posts

I was thinking about upgrading the stereo in my 1993 but I’m a complete novice when it comes to audio. As I did my research and ultimately the installation I took the following pictures and write up to document the process. Hope it helps someone! I had put up a post or two asking some audio questions, did a fair amount of reading and called on some members the vette community that I knew had audio knowledge. This research got me to a basic understanding of what I wanted to accomplish. In putting my questions out there a forum member offered me an Avic D3 for free. Thanks TIM!

So I have a nice head unit, I decided to do 6X9 3 way speakers up front and 2 8” subs in the back. From looking at pictures of other C4 installations using 5.5” speakers, researching measurements of some 6X9s and taking apart the front speaker area to take measurements I felt I could make that work. Also my thoughts were the 3 way would give me mid and tweeter. I used the Rockford Forsgate RF R1693. Others had done 8” subs but I still checked the rear areas to make the 8” JBL GTO804 subs fit. I came across a free Alpine MRV100M for the subs. I used a Rockford Forsgate Prime R 150-2 to power the 6X9s.

Here’s the start, always disconnect the battery!
DSC_2085