Login
Username:

Password:

Remember Me

Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
233 user(s) are online (84 user(s) are browsing Forums)

more...
Guru Dictionary
Print in friendly format Send this term to a friend  A4
Generic reference to an automatic equipped C4. All are 4-speed overdrive units....
Supporting Vendors
Platinum
Mid America Motorworks
Mid America Motorworks FREE CATALOG

Gold
FIC 770-888-1662

Registered Vendors
Guru Friends
Supporting Banners

TIRERACK.com - Revolutionizing Tire Buying

Shop for Winter Tires Now!

Support This Site
 Register To Post

Dads90 Help reading a Datamaster scan
Guru
Pearland, Tx
318 Posts

I hooked it up and this is the data I got. Could anyone explain any of this to me? I'm still learning. Thanks !! Resized Image
Posted on: 2008/3/10 2:37
Edited by bmwgsa on 2008/3/10 3:08:36

dan0617 Re: Help reading a Datamaster scan
Senior Guru
Tyrone, PA
1260 Posts

I am no expert either, but I have used datamaster just recently for the first time. I don't know much about the fueling, but I do know you need to try to get rid of some spark knock. I assume a few knock counts are ok but you don't want to be getting knock retard. I think you are getting lots of spark knock by the looks of your scan so you must either have too much initial timing, running a little lean, or the tune is too aggressive on timing. In some instances high rpm detonation can be caused by not enough timing. Who did your tune? You can usually email them your datamaster file and have them re-do your tune, that's what I'm doing with pcmforless. It might take a couple of tries to get it perfect but I think it is worth it. If your car is stock then chances are your initial timing is off some. Maybe Casey or someone else who knows alot about Datamaster will chime in.
Posted on: 2008/3/11 13:50
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Woodstock Re: Help reading a Datamaster scan
Senior Guru
Bremen/Germany
369 Posts