Login
Username:

Password:

Remember Me

Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
292 user(s) are online (225 user(s) are browsing Forums)

more...
Guru Dictionary
Print in friendly format Send this term to a friend  LT5
Engine used in the ZR1, 1990-1995, manual only....
Supporting Vendors
Platinum
Mid America Motorworks
Mid America Motorworks FREE CATALOG

Gold
FIC 770-888-1662

Registered Vendors
Guru Friends
Supporting Banners

TIRERACK.com - Revolutionizing Tire Buying

Shop for Winter Tires Now!

Support This Site
 Register To Post

TommyT-Bone No Spark / Ignition System
Chair-man of the bored
Homestead USA
33766 Posts

91 Vert, 383, supercharged, automatic with an MSD 6AL ignition controller. I have an FSM but limited tool chest. I am a novice not a wrench so please play nice.

The car would not start. After looking for the obvious a friend came over and we tested for fuel pressure and spark. Found we had no spark and he doesn't know enough about ignition systems or where to check so I had it towed to my local mechanic that has kept this car running for me over the past year. I had disconnected the battery, gave it a full charge and sent it to the shop for troubleshooting. We reconnected the battery, pushed it to the bay and I gave him the keys to try and start it. Vvrooom, the sucker kicks right over. He checks the wiring by the distributor and there is one loose but not disconnected wire in one of the connectors. Since it's there, I have them do a couple of other tasks that I had planned for a later time. The alternator failed, probably because they tried to throw a charge on it and it backed up to the alternator. No big deal because they replaced the alternator in the Spring and it was still covered under the warranty. They whacked me a few bucks to change it out but not enough to complain about.