Login
Username:

Password:

Remember Me

Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
196 user(s) are online (166 user(s) are browsing Forums)

more...
Guru Dictionary
Print in friendly format Send this term to a friend  C6
Abbreviation for the 6th generation of Corvettes built starting in 2005 and are still in production....
Supporting Vendors
Platinum
Mid America Motorworks
Mid America Motorworks FREE CATALOG

Gold
FIC 770-888-1662

Registered Vendors
Guru Friends
Supporting Banners

TIRERACK.com - Revolutionizing Tire Buying

Shop for Winter Tires Now!

Support This Site
 Register To Post

1Fast04Vert Need some advise--DRs coming soon
Elite Guru
The hills of N. Georgia
2424 Posts

First I am new to the fun of drag racing, wish I had started years ago. I am running my DD 95 Vette, LT1 and the A4, with a 3.07 rear. The only mods don't mean much at the track--SLP Claw intake, Muffler delete, ZR1 wheels with 315/35/17 Sumos. I am running on the local track, which is 1/8th mile. Best so far was an 8.649 @ 86.4 mph, and still spinning on the launch and the 1-2 shift.

Now comes the question--I just purchased a set of BFG Drag Radials (275/35/18) that will be mounted on stock C5 rear wheels. Not being familiar with DRs, plus this is my DD what is the best practices at the track?

Tire Pressure?
Get in the water, burn outs, etc?

I want to hook up, but not break stuff.

Advice appreciated.

ps--I also just did a Meziere WP since my last time at the track.
Posted on: 2008/10/12 2:16

bogus Re: Need some advise--DRs coming soon
Grand Imperial Pooh-Bah
San Pedro, CA
20859 Posts

Start shopping for a D44.
Posted on: 2008/10/12 2:31

Education is the best tool to overcome irrational fear. - me

Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

cuisinartvette Re: Need some advise--DRs coming soon
Elite Guru
1782 Posts

Dont get the BFGs, too hot as in John Force style burnout, follow the mfrs instructions.
Youll be fine with the D36 IMO.