Login
Username:

Password:

Remember Me

Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
174 user(s) are online (153 user(s) are browsing Forums)

more...
Guru Dictionary
 Register To Post

movnviolation Tuning an 89
Guru Newb
Hesperia, Calif
188 Posts

What year did our cars have computers that could be tuned with laptops?
The reason I ask is I have heavily modded my 89 and the car hauls ass but there is a popping noise in the exhaust as I let off, it seems to search for a mixture at cruising speed,and it runs bad at an idle.
I need to find a tuner that works on our cars that can put it on a dyno to tell me what is happening!

Thanks
Posted on: 2009/4/17 2:35

Matatk Re: Tuning an 89
Webmaster
SW Chicago Burbs
22807 Posts

I am by no means an expert in this. Our (89) still has a computer with a chip. In general, guys get their tune and burn chips to make changes. You can use a laptop with a data cable to monitor the sensors, etc, as you are driving. If you want to make on the fly changes, you will need a moates ostrich tuner. This plugs into the stock computer with a piggyback type cable that is always connected. Check out the moates.net set.

Matthew
Posted on: 2009/4/17 2:53

89Vette Re: Tuning an 89
Senior Guru
135 Posts

One common cause of that is a mal-functioning injector.

On mine, I had 2 injectors going "south" on the driver's bank. Because that's the side with the O2 sensor it would have seen a lean condition and increase the pulse width.

Take a super rich motor and let of the gas....(Especially if any of the injectors are getting slow), the gas hitting the cats is causing the pops.

I'd bet money it's an injector issue.
Posted on: 2009/4/17 4:18

movnviolation Re: Tuning an 89
Guru Newb
Hesperia, Calif
188 Posts

History on build.

AFR 180 comp heads, zz409 tpis cam, MiniRam, Tpis headers, 1.6 roller rockers, level 5 tpis chip, new bosch 24 lb injectors.