Login
Username:

Password:

Remember Me

Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
171 user(s) are online (115 user(s) are browsing Forums)

more...
Guru Dictionary
 Register To Post

TommyT-Bone Autocross Tricks and Track Tips Wanted
Chair-man of the bored
Homestead USA
33760 Posts

I'm in my third year of autocross. The first runs for me were more like drifting runs than autocross but that was the start of the learning curve. I think what my main problem now is charging the curves and scrubbing off too much speed or braking for too long like a coast into the corners instead of stabbing the brakes and accellerating earlier out of the turn. I know there are different lines and taking a tight line often means you have to scrub off more speed. I've tried running a middle line trying to improve my track times.
I have about 18 events under my belt and clearly should be several seconds faster than what I'm doing. So I'm appealing to the veteran racers to share a tip or two that may help me improve my runs. I've had instructors ride along but they never really give me anything that is helping my performance. Basically they just comment about running on street tires. I know I'd pick up better time with track tires. But if I continue to run on street tires I really just want to improve my run time without going to the expense and hassle of bringing an extra set of wheels and tires. I drive either C4 Corvettes or an 83 Porsche 911 SC. My run times are similar in each car 90 stock coupe 6 speed, faster when I bring the 383 but that moves me up in class so I'm still running slow for that group. Thanks guys and gals. Any help is appreciated. Fire away, flame suit on.
Posted on: 2008/5/13 19:02
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Matatk Re: Autocross Tricks and Track Tips Wanted
Webmaster
SW Chicago Burbs
22804 Posts

Tip #1: Don't crash.